[]
[]

The Yard

Grecian, Alex (Book - 2012)
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
The Yard
 Add a Comment  Add Tags

Print

Item Details

1889, LONDON. JACK THE RIPPER'S REIGN OF TERROR IN FINALLY OVER, BUT A NEW ONE IS JUST BEGINNING. Victorian London--a violent cesspool of squalid depravity. Only twelve detectives--The Murder Squad--are expected to solve the thousands of crimes committed here each month. Formed after the Metropolitan Police's spectacular failure in capturing Jack the Ripper, the Murder Squad suffers the brunt of public contempt. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... A Scotland Yard Inspector has been found stuffed in a black steamer trunk at Euston Square Station, his eyes and mouth sewn shut. When Walter Day, the squad's new hire, is assigned to the case, he finds a strange ally in Dr. Bernard Kingsley, the Yard's first forensic pathologist. Their grim conclusion: this was not just a random, bizarre murder but in all probability, the first of twelve. Because the squad itself it being targeted and the devious killer shows no signs of stopping before completing his grim duty. But Inspector Day has one more surprise, something even more shocking than the crimes: the killer's motive.
Authors: Grecian, Alex
Title: The Yard
[#1]
Publisher: New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2012.
Characteristics: 422 p. ;,24 cm.
Content Type: text
Media Type: unmediated
Carrier Type: volume
Local Note: bt/cmr2
1 2 3 8 14 15
ISBN: 9780425261279
0399149546
9780399149542
Statement of Responsibility: Alex Grecian
Subject Headings: Detectives England Fiction. Murder Investigation England Fiction.
Genre/Form: Mystery fiction.
Topical Term: Detectives
Murder
LCCN: 2011050663
MARC Display»

Opinion

From Library Staff

List - Readalikes for JCLHopeH by: JCLEmilyW Feb 20, 2014

(Gods of Gotham)

List - JoCoLibraryPRL 10076 by: JoCoLibraryPRL Feb 17, 2014

Added by JCLBethanyT.

List - JoCoLibraryPRL 10062 by: JoCoLibraryPRL Jan 14, 2014

Added by JCLBethanyT.

List - JoCoLibraryPRL 10056 by: JoCoLibraryPRL Dec 29, 2013

Added by JCLBethanyT.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Oct 26, 2014
  • forbesrachel rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

A new type of criminal has emerged as the unsolved case of Jack the Ripper looms over London. Worse yet, the citizens no longer trust these police who are poorly prepared for what is coming, and obstruct their investigations more often than not. The Yard follows the day to day of these over-worked, under-paid, yet devoted defenders within the framework of solving the murder of one of their own. Right off the bat we are given the answers through a series of sections told from the criminal's point of view. This makes it less a mystery novel, and more a story about the individuals in the Murder Squad itself. These characters each have their own distinct appearance, past, and thought processes, with the later point being especially relevant as crimes were harder to solve in the 1800's. The author studies the characters, as much as the time period. We see them just as policework is beginning to specialize, which is in reaction to criminals who are becoming smarter, and more irrationally violent. They will need new procedures, science, and a keen wit to catch this new breed of killer.

Oct 02, 2014
  • ChristineT_RPL rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

Here is one that I could not put down. I even contemplated calling in sick to work just to read this book. I loved the way the author created every detail of this world. Alex Grecian uses actual historical characters and places to add to the reality of this story. I must warn you thought that this is not for the faint of heart. There are some gruesome descriptions of the murders, from the victims point of view. Blood and gore galore!

Mar 23, 2014
  • rlbishop7880 rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Excellent writing. There are multiple story threads and various points of view, but it's always easy to keep track of where you are and what's happening. If you like historical fiction this is an excellent step into Victorian England. Plenty of romance while maintaining the gritty danger of life on the streets. A good balance of humor against the murderous backdrop as well.

Mar 20, 2014
  • alex59 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Great characters one cares about, fine historical detail, didn't want to put it down till I was finished. Thoroughly enjoyed the book. Hope there's more good books coming from this author.

A patron review from the Adult Summer Reading Game: Great mystery set in Victorian London. Interesting characters, fast paced read.

I read at least 3 books a week. This one the best I have read this month. I read it in 2 days. This author will rise to the top of historical fiction. The Characters are real & the suspense last till the end.

Oct 20, 2012
  • bridge1 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

An excellent book.

Excellent - must read for historical mystery buffs!!!!!!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

The Yard Book Trailer

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only twelve detectives—known as "The Murder Squad"—to investigate countless murders every month.

Find it at My Library

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app09 Version draggan_fix Last updated 2014/11/20 11:49