[]
[]

The Yard

Grecian, Alex (Book - 2012)
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
The Yard
Print

Item Details

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only twelve detectives--known as "The Murder Squad"--to investigate countless murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police's spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own . . . one of the twelve . . . When Walter Day, the squad's newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard's first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad . . . but why? Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.
Authors: Grecian, Alex
Title: The Yard
[#1]
Publisher: New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2012.
Characteristics: 422 p. ;,24 cm.
Content Type: text
Media Type: unmediated
Carrier Type: volume
Local Note: 1 2 3 8 14 15
bt/cmr2
ISBN: 9780399149542
0399149546
9780425261279
Statement of Responsibility: Alex Grecian
Subject Headings: Murder Investigation England Fiction. Detectives England Fiction.
Genre/Form: Mystery fiction.
Topical Term: Murder
Detectives
LCCN: 2011050663
MARC Display»

Opinion

From the critics


From Library Staff

List - Readalikes for JCLHopeH by: JCLEmilyW Feb 20, 2014

(Gods of Gotham)

List - JoCoLibraryPRL 10076 by: JoCoLibraryPRL Feb 17, 2014

Added by JCLBethanyT.

List - JoCoLibraryPRL 10062 by: JoCoLibraryPRL Jan 14, 2014

Added by JCLBethanyT.

List - JoCoLibraryPRL 10056 by: JoCoLibraryPRL Dec 29, 2013

Added by JCLBethanyT.


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Oct 02, 2014
  • ChristineT_RPL rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

Here is one that I could not put down. I even contemplated calling in sick to work just to read this book. I loved the way the author created every detail of this world. Alex Grecian uses actual historical characters and places to add to the reality of this story. I must warn you thought that this is not for the faint of heart. There are some gruesome descriptions of the murders, from the victims point of view. Blood and gore galore!

Mar 23, 2014
  • rlbishop7880 rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Excellent writing. There are multiple story threads and various points of view, but it's always easy to keep track of where you are and what's happening. If you like historical fiction this is an excellent step into Victorian England. Plenty of romance while maintaining the gritty danger of life on the streets. A good balance of humor against the murderous backdrop as well.

Mar 20, 2014
  • alex59 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Great characters one cares about, fine historical detail, didn't want to put it down till I was finished. Thoroughly enjoyed the book. Hope there's more good books coming from this author.

A patron review from the Adult Summer Reading Game: Great mystery set in Victorian London. Interesting characters, fast paced read.

I read at least 3 books a week. This one the best I have read this month. I read it in 2 days. This author will rise to the top of historical fiction. The Characters are real & the suspense last till the end.

Oct 20, 2012
  • bridge1 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

An excellent book.

Excellent - must read for historical mystery buffs!!!!!!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

The Yard Book Trailer

Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only twelve detectives—known as "The Murder Squad"—to investigate countless murders every month.

Find it at My Library

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app10 Version Arkelstorp Last updated 2014/10/23 09:41