[]
[]

The Hobbit

Or, There and Back Again
Tolkien, J. R. R. (Book - 2012 )
Average Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.
The Hobbit
Print

Item Details

Bilbo Baggins, a respectable, well-to-do hobbit, lives comfortably in his hobbit-hole until the day the wandering wizard Gandalf chooses him to take part in an adventure from which he may never return.
Authors: Tolkien, J. R. R. (John Ronald Reuel), 1892-1973
Title: The hobbit
or, There and back again
Publisher: New York : Del Rey/Ballantine Books, 2012, c1937.
Edition: Rev. ed., Del Rey mass market ed.
Characteristics: vii, 306 p. :,maps ;,18 cm.
Content Type: text
Media Type: unmediated
Carrier Type: volume
Notes: "Now a major motion picture"--Cover.
Originally published: London : Allen & Unwin, 1937.
Summary: Bilbo Baggins, a respectable, well-to-do hobbit, lives comfortably in his hobbit-hole until the day the wandering wizard Gandalf chooses him to take part in an adventure from which he may never return.
Local Note: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
Core Youth
Alternate Title: There and back again
Hobbit
ISBN: 0345534832
9780345534835
Statement of Responsibility: by J.R.R. Tolkien
Subject Headings: Fantasy fiction Young adult literature. Middle Earth (Imaginary place) Young adult fiction. Baggins, Bilbo (Fictitious character) Young adult fiction.
Topical Term: Fantasy fiction
Middle Earth (Imaginary place)
Baggins, Bilbo (Fictitious character)
MARC Display»

From the critics


Library Staff

List - Upcoming Books to Movies by: JCLAmyF Aug 08, 2014

Part III to release December 2014: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2310332

The third part of the Hobbit will be in theatres 12/14

List - Readalikes for JCLRobinD by: JCLMartyJ Mar 13, 2014

(For Pawn of Prophecy)

Comment by: JCLMichelleMB Oct 11, 2013

you can return to this book like an old friend and upon rereading find new and thrilling nuances. like kellygmayer, i am not a fantasy fan but adore tolkien.

Bilbo Baggins lives comfortably in his hobbit-hole until the day the wandering wizard Gandalf chooses him to take part in an adventure from which he may never return.


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Aug 13, 2014
  • Dance_enchanted_Star74 rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

I definitely wasn't my favorite book but I like how creative the story and characters were and how J.R.R. Tolkien worded is book. I think his Lord of the Rings series, including the Hobbit, was very original.

Feb 06, 2014
  • JosephJ rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

This book by J. R. R. Tolkien was the book that basically started the idea of Middle Earth itself. Beginning with the famous quote "In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit", this book tells the adventures of Bilbo Baggins, the hobbit who found the Ring and changed the course of Middle Earth.
Though "The Hobbit" was meant for children, it can still be enjoyed by anyone of any age. This is a book you will enjoy.

For the greatest fantasy epic of all time, it was a bit disappointing . But Mein Kampf, really?

The worst book ever written... if you wanna read a good book, i'd reccomend mein kampf... seriously this was a bad book

Oct 11, 2013
  • JCLMichelleMB rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

you can return to this book like an old friend and upon rereading find new and thrilling nuances. like kellygmayer, i am not a fantasy fan but adore tolkien.

Sep 21, 2013
  • EMF1226 rated this: 2.5 stars out of 5.

A solid book for anyone interested in exploring the fantasy genre. The narrative is pretty interesting as it's from the perspective of a storyteller that isn't involved with the story in any way. However, it does drag on at times, plot points resolve in anti-climactic ways, and some of the details don't add anything to the story.

Jul 08, 2013
  • kellygmayer rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Didn't think I liked fantasy, but I enjoyed this.

Jun 07, 2013
  • Gothipire rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This is one of my favorite books. I suggest it to anyone who likes fantasy, or the Harry Potter books. As well as anyone who knows anything, read, played, or whatever else dealing with the Lord of the Rings.

if you want to start reading fantasy you should start from here

Apr 05, 2013
  • _Abi_ rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This book is amazing! I love Tolkien....he's one of the best authors and this book will NOT disappoint. especially if u are a LOTR fan. I've read this book and seen the movie 7 times....they're both awesome

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

Aug 01, 2014
  • red_bear_1076 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

red_bear_1076 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

Jan 27, 2014
  • earchib0924 rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

earchib0924 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

blue_fox_453 thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

alafond thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 11 and 99

thejk thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 99

red_raccoon_49 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 99

orange_tiger_343 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

Sep 24, 2012
  • olive_dove_21 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

olive_dove_21 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

meks thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

Dec 23, 2011
  • orange_eagle_41 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

orange_eagle_41 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

View All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary

bilbo bagins goes in a amezing journey the one he will find something that later on will start a war.

"Bilbo Baggins, a respectable well-to -do hobbit lives comfortably in his hobbit hole until the day the wandering wizard Gandalf chooses him to take part in an adventure from which he may never return." (Novelist Review)

Notices

Add a Notice

Mar 21, 2012
  • rockin_dude rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Other: The Hobbit is amazing!! It is definitely not a waste of time!

Mar 02, 2012
  • booklover333 rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

Other: The Hobbit rocks!! Waste as much time as you can on it!!

Nov 26, 2011
  • PrinceBishop rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Other: One of the best books ever. Waste lots of time on it!

Quotes

Add a Quote

Jan 04, 2014
  • micheleherrick rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

"It likes riddles ... does it?" Gollum

Voiceless it cries,
Wingless it flutters,
Toothless it bites,
Mouth less it mutters.

“Old Took's great-granduncle Bullroarer...was so huge (for a hobbit) that he could ride a horse. He charged the ranks of the goblins of Mount Gram in the Battle of the Green Fields, and knocked their king Golfibul's head clean off with a wooden club. It sailed a hundred yards through the air and went down a rabbit-hole, and in this way the battle was won and the game of Golf was invented at the same moment.”

Mar 02, 2012
  • booklover333 rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

"In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit. Not a nasty hole filled with the ends of worms and an oozy smell, nor yet a dry, bare, sandy hole with nothing in it to sit down on or eat: it was a hobbit-hole, and that means comfort."

Videos

Add a Video

Jul 28, 2014
  • hindins rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

The Hobbit 3 Battle of the Five Armies - Official Movie Trailer (2014) (HD)

Official Hobbit Trailer #1

Bilbo Baggins, a Hobbit, journeys to the Lonely Mountain accompanied by a group of dwarves to reclaim a treasure taken from them by the dragon Smaug.

OPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
Version old_java (old_java) Last updated 2014/08/20 15:48