Daughter Of Providence

Daughter Of Providence

A Novel

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
The "sympathetic and compelling" ( Cleveland Plain Dealer ) novel about a young woman untangling family secrets and claiming her independence.

Julie Drew's extraordinary novel is a breakthrough work in the tradition of Richard Russo and Annie Proulx. summer, 1934: Anne Dodge, raised by her old-money father in a small Rhode island coastal town, has always been told that her mother abandoned them. But then Anne learns that she has a half- sister, Maria Cristina --and when Maria Cristina comes to live with Anne and her father, ugly truths begin to surface about the family.

Within a context of jazz, the end of Prohibition, and stifling gender expectations, Daughter of Providence is a gripping and seductive summer read. this story of loss and rediscovery will resonate with readers long after the final page.
Publisher: New York : Overlook Press, c2011.
ISBN: 9781590204627
159020462X
Characteristics: 320 p. ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at OPL.

Try searching for Daughter Of Providence to see if OPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top