Juliet's Nurse

Juliet's Nurse

A Novel

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
The International Bestseller

An enthralling new telling of Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet --told from the perspective of Juliet's nurse. "Lois Leveen's richly detailed, fascinating novel offers a wholly original and intriguing take on one of Shakespeare's most beloved plays" ( New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Chiaverini).

In Verona, a city ravaged by plague and political rivalries, a mother mourning the death of her day-old infant enters the household of the powerful Cappelletti family to become the wet-nurse to their newborn baby. As she serves her beloved Juliet over the next fourteen years, the nurse learns the Cappellettis' darkest secrets. Those secrets--and the nurse's deep personal grief--erupt across five momentous days of love and loss that destroy a daughter, and a family.

By turns sensual, tragic, and comic, Juliet's Nurse gives voice to one of literature's most memorable and distinctive characters, a woman who was both insider and outsider among Verona's wealthy ruling class. Exploring the romance and intrigue of interwoven loyalties, rivalries, jealousies, and losses only hinted at in Shakespeare's play, this is a never-before-heard tale of the deepest love in Verona--the love between a grieving woman and the precious child of her heart.

In the tradition of Sarah Dunant, Philippa Gregory, and Geraldine Brooks, Juliet's Nurse is a rich prequel that reimagines the world's most cherished tale of love and loss, suffering and survival.
Publisher: New York :, Emily Bestler Books/Atria,, 2014.
Edition: First Emily Bestler BooksAtria Books hardcover edition.
ISBN: 9781476757445
1476757445
Branch Call Number: FICTION Leveen Lois 09/2014
Characteristics: 375 pages ;,24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
tesstlc
Jul 20, 2015

I really enjoyed the language of the book. She did a good job of incorporating Shakespearean wording and some directly from the original play. Also, it reads as if she thoroughly researched medieval life to create a realistic world deeper than that of the original "Romeo and Juliet" where much of the background is taken for granted.

m
meggos
Jun 22, 2015

Boring, too wordy. It was interesting but after just over 100 pages I skimmed through it. The end, I liked what the nurse said.

s
stephaniedchase
Jul 21, 2014

Leveen excels at taking someone little known in history (first, in real life, with Mary Bowser, and now, in fiction, with the nurse from ROMEO & JULIET) and developing a fascinating world for them to live in. While the second half of the book, where we see the events in the play -- and the characters -- from a completely different perspective, is wonderful, I most enjoyed the first half, where the story focuses on the every day life of Juliet, her family, and her nurse, and the development of Tybalt as a character. Guaranteed to be a great book club book, as there is much to discuss.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top