The Collected Stories Of Chester Himes

The Collected Stories Of Chester Himes

Book - 1991
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Chester Himes's novels-like All Shot Up, Lonely Crusade, & Big Gold Dream-have been entertaining people for more than half a century with their dark wit & insight. Now, for the first time ever, all 60 of Himes's short stories are available, too. Spanning over forty years of Chester Himes's writing career, this provocative collection of short stories uncovers the internal struggles of black individuals caught between rage & resignation in American society. From the earliest stories, written at the time of Himes's term in prison for jewelry theft, to those written after his emigration to France & later to Spain, where he died in 1984, these tales resound with both wit & indignation. This collection includes all 60 of Himes's surviving stories-including some never before published-and is the first original book to be released in the U.S. in over a decade by one of the twentieth century's most compelling writers.
Publisher: New York : Thunder's Mouth Press, 1991, c1990.
Edition: 1st U.S. ed.
ISBN: 9781560250210
Characteristics: xiv, 429 p. ;,24 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings

No similar edition of this title was found at OPL.

Try searching for The Collected Stories Of Chester Himes to see if OPL owns related versions of the work.

To Top