Beasts and Children

Beasts and Children

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Linked stories exploring the dark heart of the American family: "Electrifying, daring . . . sure to appeal to fans of Karen Russell and Lorrie Moore " ( Booklist, starred review).

A St. Louis Post-Dispatch Best Book of the Year

The Bowmans are declining Texas gentry, heirs to an airline fortune, surrounded by a patriarch's stuffed trophies and lost dreams. They will each be haunted by the past as they strive to escape its force.

The Fosters are diplomats' kids who might as well be orphans. Jill and Maizie grow up privileged amid poverty, powerless to change the lives of those around them and uncertain whether they have the ability to change their own.

The Guzmans have moved between Colombia and the United States, each generation seeking opportunity for the next, only to find that the American dream can be as crushing as it is elusive.

From the tense territory of a sagging, grand porch in Texas to a gated community in Thailand to a lonely apartment in nondescript suburbia, these wry, dark stories unwind the lives of three families as they navigate the ever-shifting landscapes of the American middle class.

"No one is safe, Parker reminds us, especially within the family circle--but one's chosen family can also offer salvation. . . . The stories, like the mounted heads in the Bowmans' trophy room, rivet the gaze, demand that readers recognize themselves in those glassy eyes--and then become disconcertingly alive." -- The New York Times Book Review
Publisher: Mariner Books,, 2016.
ISBN: 9780544370166
0544370163
Branch Call Number: eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file, rda

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top