The Education of Will

The Education of Will

A Mutual Memoir of A Woman and Her Dog

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
In this powerful, soul-searching memoir, beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild , animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell recounts for the first time the compelling story of her dark past, memories of which are triggered by a troubled dog named Will.

World-renowned as a source of science and soul, Patricia McConnell combines brilliant insights into canine behavior--gained from her work with aggressive and fearful dogs--with heartwarming stories of her own dogs and their life on the farm. Now, she reveals that it wasn't just the dogs who had serious problems. For decades Dr. McConnell secretly grappled with her own guilt and fear, which were rooted in the harrowing traumas of her youth.

Patricia is forced to face her past by her love for a young Border Collie named Will, whose frequent, unpredictable outbreaks of fear and fury shake Patricia to her core. In order to save Will from this dangerous behavior, she must find her own will to heal, and along the way learn that will power by itself is not enough.

Interweaving enlightening stories of her clients' dogs with tales of her deepening bond with Will, Patricia recounts her fight to reclaim her life. Hopeful and inspiring, the redemptive message of her journey is that, while trauma changes our brains and the past casts a long shadow, healing, for both people and dogs, is possible through hard work, compassion, and mutual devotion.
Publisher: New York :, Atria Books,, 2017.
Edition: First Atria Books hardcover edition.
ISBN: 9781501150159
1501150154
Branch Call Number: 636.7089 McConnel 02/2017
Characteristics: x, 270 pages ;,24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

v
vkreads
Sep 17, 2018

A MUST read re: dog aggression behaviors......Well published book author, PhD zoologist, animal behaviorist....McConnell...dog specialist..trainer....educator....but, when her own 8 week old beautiful Border collie puppy immediately shows severe fears, and becomes aggressive (toward her other dog).....well....troubles begin; she tracks the training and problems through several years of her dog's life. Wonderful reading. Descriptive, thoughtful, captivating.

THIS BOOK is a MUST for anyone whose dog/s are aggressive...it is a wonderful read of chapters filled with real life examples of aggression by a dog (to other dogs, to people, etc.)...and how, as an animal behaviorist, she tackles the issues, step by step.
She is so very human; understanding how her own behavior may have contributed to her dog's problems....until she became aware...

s
sunnydais
Sep 07, 2017

The most riveting book I have read in a long time. A must for any dog lover.some shocking parts. Not for the feint hearted!

ontherideau Jul 03, 2017

A brave account of the author's life long work with troubled dogs and her own demons.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top