Tyler Johnson Was Here

Tyler Johnson Was Here

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
"When Marvin Johnson's twin brother, Tyler, is shot and killed by a police officer, Marvin must fight injustice to learn the true meaning of freedom"--
Publisher: Boston ;, New York :, Little, Brown and Company,, 2018.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780316440776
0316440779
Branch Call Number: YA FICTION Coles Jay 03/2018
Characteristics: 299 pages ;,22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
JCLAbbeyL Jun 06, 2018

This is another powerful story about a black teen shot by a cop. It presents perspectives and outlooks on things from a space that some of us have never had to experience, and that is valuable. Listening to Tyler's brother tell this story breaks your heart, but it also makes it stronger.

This novel is getting so much love and critical acclaim, it's a 2018 must-read. Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give (which is basically everyone, right?).


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

JCLAbbeyL Jun 06, 2018

This is another powerful story about a black teen shot by a cop. It presents perspectives and outlooks on things from a space that some of us have never had to experience, and that is valuable. Listening to Tyler's brother tell this story breaks your heart, but it also makes it stronger.

LPL_WilliamO May 07, 2018

Another important, heartbreaking story addressing police brutality and racism in America. Fans of The Hate U Give and Dear Martin take note!

Dynamic pacing, lyrical - yet brutally real - writing, and characters I cared about from the first page, Tyler Johnson Was Here is a tribute to the diversity that exists within blackness, and an ode to embracing that individuality, no matter how much society may homogenize and villainize that blackness.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top