Squids Will Be Squids

Squids Will Be Squids

Fresh Morals, Beastly Fables

Book - 1998
Average Rating:
5
3
1
 …
Rate this:
Contemporary fables with tongue-in-cheek morals address such topics as homework, curfews, and television commercials.
Publisher: New York : Viking, 1998.
ISBN: 9780758753922
0758753926
9780670881352
067088135X
Branch Call Number: E FICTION Scieszka
Characteristics: 1 v. (unpaged) :,col. ill. ;,31 cm.
Additional Contributors: Leach, Molly
Smith, Lane

Opinion

From Library Staff

More wisdom from the baby pool.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

FindingJane Apr 03, 2016

Mr. Scieszka strikes again as he pens a bunch of goofy and weirdly specific fables featuring matches, squids, pigeons and the occasional elephant. Few if any of these stories are remotely applicable to real life and therefore contain their own giddy notion of fun. The book contains the recognizable off-kilter illustrations by Lane Smith with eyeballs going astray and juxtapositions between drawings and collage-like insertions. Definitely a treat for fans of Messrs. Scieszka and Smith.

ss1989 Jul 18, 2015

i adore this book. it was snappy and funny and soooo great to look at. the illustrations are really far out. and i just loved reading it to my son. its a bigger book too so we spread bed time story time over a few nights with this book. i'll probably check it out again

ceebz21 Feb 04, 2013

I no longer need this book.

p
Paulhopkinson
Oct 15, 2011

Funny! Funny! Funny! An updated version of Aesop's Fabels. I believe he is turning in his grave over this hilarious book. For both kids and adults, a great read.

t
Triscal
Mar 31, 2008

This is a really funny book the stories are clever and interestingly drawn. enough said

Quotes

Add a Quote

t
Triscal
Mar 31, 2008

moral don't play with matches

t
Triscal
Mar 31, 2008

Moral everybody knows frogs can't skateboard, but it's kind of sad that they believe everything they see on tv

t
Triscal
Mar 31, 2008

He tried the fakie ollie and smashed into the trashcan

Age

Add Age Suitability

t
Triscal
Mar 31, 2008

Triscal thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary

t
Triscal
Mar 31, 2008

this is a book of short stories each about a short paragraph long. there is 18 short stories each drawn slightly different from the previous

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at My Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top